Licensure Requirements
 
 
about the board
annual reports
  applications and forms
  continuing education
  copying fee for records
  customer service standards
DEA approval letter
filing a complaint
  frequently asked questions
  human trafficking
  laws and rules
  license verification
  licensure requirements
  meeting dates and agendas
  minutes
  newsletters
  policies
  register with OARRS
  related links
   
  home
   


You must call the Optometry Board at 1-888-565-3044 in order to obtain an Application for Licensure. They are not available on this website for downloading.

Applications for Licensure must be approved in one of our regularly scheduled Board meetings. Please refer to http://optometry.ohio.gov/meetings.stm for application deadline dates and Board meeting dates.

LICENSURE REQUIREMENTS

- Must be a graduate of an accredited college of optometry. Candidates who are seniors can apply for licensure prior to graduation.

- Required paperwork. (Further information will be provided along with the Application for Licensure.)

  • Completed application with licensure fee of $175.00.
  • Passport size photograph.
  • Final transcript from optometry school. Must be an official transcript mailed directly to the Board from the optometry school.
  • Copy of CPR training.
  • Scores from NBEO must be sent direct to the Board.
  • If licensed in another state(s), verification of good standing from that state(s).
  • If licensed in another state you must complete a "self-query" with the National Practitioners Data Bank.
  • If born outside of the United States, proof of residency.
  • Criminal background check is required. Criminal background checks from out-of-state locations are processed much slower than electronic fingerprints taken within the State of Ohio. If time is extremely critical, you may want to consider submitting the prints electronically from an Ohio location.

- Must have taken and passed Part I, Part II, and Part III of the National Board of Examiners in Optometry (NBEO) exams. The TMOD examination is reported to Ohio as a stand alone score within Part II and must have a passing score. We accept the passing scores as determined by the NBEO.

- If you fail any part of the NBEO exams four times, after the fourth failure you must complete 30 hours of remedial transcript quality training in the subject area in which you failed.

- You must complete a two hour instruction session on the Ohio laws and rules prior to beginning the practice of optometry in Ohio. Call the Board office at 1-888-565-3044 to schedule that session.

- Sessions are only scheduled after your license application has been submitted to the Board.

- Applications for licensure can be requested in writing or by calling the Board office.


ENDORSEMENT REQUIREMENTS SECTION 4725.18

- Must be licensed to practice optometry by a state or province that requires passage of a written, entry-level examination at the time of initial licensure. Must be active and in good standing. Applicant must have been actively engaged in the practice of optometry, including the use of therapeutic pharmaceutical agents, for at least three years immediately preceding making application to the Board.

- You must complete a two hour instruction session on the Ohio laws and rules prior to beginning the practice of optometry in Ohio. Call the Board office at 1-888-565-3044 to schedule that session.

- Applications for endorsement licensure can be requested in writing or by calling the Board office.

Top